Skip to main content Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 31
Thursday, November 3, 2016, 8:46 a.m. to 10:48 a.m.
James Maloney, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Jesse Good, Analyst
• Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst
Noront Resources Ltd.
• Glenn Nolan, Vice-president of Government Affairs
Suncor Energy Inc.
• Ginny Flood, Vice-President, Government Relations
Lakehead University
• Peter Hollings, Director, Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Mining and Exploration
Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation
• Douglas Morrison, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Bora Ugurgel, Managing Director, Ultra-deep Mining Network
McGill University
• Roussos Dimitrakopoulos, Professor, Mining and Materials Engineering Department
Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada
• Lesley Williams, Senior Manager, Aboriginal and Regulatory Affairs
• Michael Fox, Co-Chair, Aboriginal Affairs Committee, President of Indigenous Community Engagement Inc.
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 24, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Future of Canada’s Oil and Gas, Mining and Nuclear Sectors: Innovation, Sustainable Solutions and Economic Opportunities.

Glenn Nolan, Ginny Flood and Peter Hollings made statements and answered questions.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Douglas Morrison, Roussos Dimitrakopoulos, Lesley Williams and Michael Fox made statements and, with Bora Urgurgel, answered questions.

At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

William Stephenson
Clerk of the Committee