Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 114
Thursday, June 7, 2018, 3:31 p.m. to 6:35 p.m.
Hon. Larry Bagnell, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, Analyst
As an individual
• David Moscrop
• Angela Nagy, Former Chief Executive Officer, Kelowna - Lake Country, Green Party of Canada
• Pippa Norris, Professor of Government, Harvard University and University of Sydney
• Leonid Sirota, Lecturer, Auckland University of Technology
Louisiana Secretary of State
• Sherri Hadskey, Commissioner of Elections
Open Media Engagement Network
• Victoria Henry, Digital Rights Campaigner
Rhinoceros Party
• Sébastien Corriveau, Leader
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Chris Aylward, National President
• Morna Ballantyne, Special Assistant to the National President
Facebook Inc.
• Kevin Chan, Head of Public Policy
Twitter Inc.
• Michele Austin, Head, Government, Public Policy, Twitter Canada
• Carlos Monje, Director of Public Policy, Twitter - United States and Canada
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-76, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make certain consequential amendments.

David Moscrop, by videoconference from Seoul, South Korea, Sherri Hadskey, by videoconference from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Victoria Henry, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Sébastien Corriveau, by videoconfrence from Saint-Donat-de-Rimouski, Quebec, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Chris Aylward, Pippa Norris, by videoconference from Hyannis, Massachusetts, Angela Nagy, by videoconference from Kelowna, British Columbia, and Leonid Sirota, by videoconference from Auckland, New Zealand, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kevin Chan and Carlos Monje, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., made statements and, with Michele Austin, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., answered questions.

At 6:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee