Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 113
Thursday, June 7, 2018, 10:03 a.m. to 1:05 p.m.
Hon. Larry Bagnell, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andre Barnes, Analyst
As an individual
• Leslie Seidle, Research Director, Institute for Research on Public Policy
• Elizabeth Dubois, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, University of Ottawa
• Paul G. Thomas, Professor Emeritus, Political Studies, University of Manitoba
Citoyenneté jeunesse
• Nicolas Lavallée, Strategic Advisor
Samara Centre for Democracy
• Michael Morden, Research Director
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
• Cara Zwibel, Director, Fundamental Freedoms Program
Canadian Labour Congress
• Chris Roberts, National Director, Social and Economic Policy Department
Canadian Equal Parenting Council
• Glenn Cheriton, President
Green Party of Canada
• Jean-Luc Cooke, Member of Council, National Office
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-76, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make certain consequential amendments.

Leslie Seidle, Nicolas Lavallée and Michael Morden made statements and answered questions.

At 10:20 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:12 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Elizabeth Dubois, Cara Zwibel and Chris Roberts made statements and answered questions.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Paul G. Thomas, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Glenn Cheriton and Jean-Luc Cooke made statements and answered questions.

At 12:43 p.m., Blake Richards took the Chair.

At 12:55 p.m., Larry Bagnell took the Chair.

It was agreed, — That the Committee meet to consider Committee business on Monday, June 11, 2018.

At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee