Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 8
Tuesday, April 19, 2016, 8:44 a.m. to 10:51 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Bill Blair (Liberal)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Christine Morris, Analyst
Canadian Bar Association
• Sarah Lugtig, Chair, Access to Justice Committee
• Mark C. Power, Special Advisor, Forum of French Speaking Common Law members
As an individual
• Gerald Chipeur, Partner, Miller Thompson LLP
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
• Cara Zwibel, Director, Fundamental Freedoms Program
African Canadian Legal Clinic
• Margaret Parsons, Executive Director
Canadian Muslim Lawyers Association
• Ziyaad Mia, Member, Legal Advocacy Committee
Council of Canadians with Disabilities
• Anne Levesque, Chairperson, Human Rights Committee
• John Rae, Second Vice-Chairperson, Chairperson of Social Policy Committee
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Access to the Justice System.

Sarah Lugtig, Gerald Chipeur and Cara Zwibel made statements and, with Mark C. Power, answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Margaret Parsons, Ziyaad Mia, John Rae and Anne Levesque made statements and answered questions.

At 10:51 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee