Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 73
Monday, October 30, 2017, 3:27 p.m. to 6:40 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Ted Falk for Ron Liepert (Conservative)
• Tom Kmiec for Michael Cooper (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
House of Commons
• Ariane Gagné-Frégeau, Procedural Clerk
As an individual
• Steve Coughlan, Professor, Schulich School of Law, University of Dalhousie
• Janet Epp Buckingham, Professor, Laurentian Leadership Centre, Trinity Western University
Canadian Council of Churches
• Peter Noteboom, Acting General Secretary
• Mike Hogeterp, Executive Committee Member, Commission on Justice and Peace
Evangelical Fellowship of Canada
• Bruce Clemenger, President
• Julia Beazley, Director, Public Policy
Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops
• H.Em. Thomas Collins, Archbishop of Toronto
• H.E. Lionel Gendron, President
• Bruce F. Simpson, Specialized Partener in Criminal Law, Barnes Sammon LLP
B'nai Brith Canada
• Brian Herman, Director, Government Relations
• David Matas, Senior Legal Counsel
Association for Reformed Political Action
• André Schutten, Legal Counsel and Director of Law and Policy
• Tabitha Ewert, Articling Fellow
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
• Cara Zwibel, Acting General Counsel
• Victoria Cichalewska, Articling Fellow
Church Council on Justice and Corrections
• Rebecca Bromwich, President
• Melanie Younger, Coordinator
Canadian Secular Alliance
• Greg Oliver, President
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, June 15, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Department of Justice Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.

Steve Coughlan, Peter Noteboom, Mike Hogeterp, Bruce Clemenger and Julia Beazley made statements and answered questions.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Janet Epp Buckingham, H.Em.Thomas Collins, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, H.E. Lionel Gendron and Greg Oliver made statements and, with Bruce F. Simpson, answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

It was agreed, — That the Committee commence the clause-by-clause consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Department of Justice Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act, on Wednesday, November 8, 2017, and that amendments be submitted to the Clerk of the Committee no later than 12:00 p.m. on Friday, November 3, 2017.

Brian Herman, David Matas, André Schutten, Cara Zwibel, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Rebecca Bromwich made statements and, with Tabitha Ewert, answered questions.

At 6:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee