Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 71
Monday, October 23, 2017, 3:33 p.m. to 5:50 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Maxime Charron-Tousignant, Analyst
House of Commons
• Ariane Gagné-Frégeau, Procedural Clerk
South Asian Bar Association
• Faisal Mirza, Advocacy Committee Member and Criminal Law Barrister
Centre for Free Expression at Ryerson University
• James L. Turk, Director, Distinguished Visiting Professor, Faculty of Communications and Design, Ryerson University
• Jamie Cameron, Professor of Law, Osgoode Hall Law School
• Lisa Taylor, Professor of Journalism, Ryerson University
As individuals
• Breese Davies, Lawyer, Breese Davies Law
• Christine Silverberg, Barrister and Solicitor, Chief of Police (Retired)
• Michael Spratt, Lawyer, Abergel Goldstein and Partners
Acumen Law Corporation
• Kyla Lee, Barrister and Solicitor
• Sarah E. Leamon, Associate Lawyer
Criminal Lawyers' Association
• Megan Savard, Lawyer
• Anthony Moustacalis, President
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, June 15, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Department of Justice Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.

Faisal Mirza, by videoconference from Missisauga, Ontario, James L. Turk, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Jamie Cameron, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Breese Davies made statements and, with Lisa Taylor, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, answered questions.

At 4:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kyla Lee, Sarah Leamon, Michael Spratt, Megan Savard and Christine Silverberg made statements and, with Anthony Moustacalis, answered questions.

At 5:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee