Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 64
Wednesday, September 20, 2017, 3:30 p.m. to 6:27 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Maxime Charron-Tousignant, Analyst
House of Commons
• Ariane Gagné-Frégeau, Procedural Clerk
Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police
• Mario Harel, President, Director, Gatineau Police Service
• Charles Cox, Co-Chair, Traffic Committee, Chief Superintendent, Highway Safety Division, Ontario Provincial Police
• Gord Jones, Superintendent, Traffic Committee
• Lara Malashenko, Member, Traffic Committee, Legal Counsel, Ottawa Police Services
DUID Victim Voices
• Ed Wood, President
Criminal Lawyers' Association
• Michael Spratt, Member, Partner, Abergel Goldstein and Partners LLP
Acumen Law Corporation
• Kyla Lee, Associate Barrister and Solicitor
• Sarah Leamon, Associate Barrister and Solicitor
Drug Free Kids Canada
• Marc Paris, Executive Director
Students Against Drinking and Driving of Alberta
• Arthur Lee, Community Liaison
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 31, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-46, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (offences relating to conveyances) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Mario Harel and Ed Wood made statements and, with Charles Cox and Gord Jones, answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Michael Spratt, Sarah Leamon and Kyla Lee made statements and answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marc Paris and Arthur Lee made statements and answered questions.

At 6:27 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee