Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 62
Monday, September 18, 2017, 3:57 p.m. to 7:43 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Ali Ehsassi for Chris Bittle (Liberal)
• Bryan May for Iqra Khalid (Liberal)
• Len Webber for Ron Liepert (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
House of Commons
• Ariane Gagné-Frégeau, Procedural Clerk
As an individual
• Robert Solomon, Distinguished University Professor, Faculty of Law, Western University
• Peter Hogg, Scholar in Residence, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
• Jeff Brubacher, Medical Doctor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia
Canadian Bar Association
• Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform
• Kathryn Pentz, Treasurer, Criminal Justice Section
Families For Justice
• Markita Kaulius, President
Canadian Automobile Association
• Jeff Walker, Chief Strategy Officer, National Office
Canadian Police Association
• Tom Stamatakis, President
Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers
• Greg DelBigio, Director
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
• Robert Mann, Senior Scientist, Institute for Mental Health Policy Research
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
• Roberto De Luca, Director, Public Safety Program
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 31, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-46, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (offences relating to conveyances) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Robert Solomon, Gaylene Schellenberg, Kathryn Pentz and Roberto De Luca made statements and answered questions.

At 4:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Hogg, Markita Kaulius and Jeff Walker made statements and answered questions.

At 6:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Tom Stamatakis, by videoconference from Vancouver, Bristish Columbia, and Greg DelBigio made statements and answered questions.

At 6:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:58 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jeff Brubacher, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Robert Mann made statements and answered questions.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the routine motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute Committee documents to MP Murray Rankin.

At 7:43 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee