Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 6
Tuesday, April 12, 2016, 8:45 a.m. to 10:48 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Bill Blair (Liberal)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Christine Morris, Analyst
As individuals
• Noël A.J. Badiou, Assistant Vice-President, Equity, Diversity and Human Rights, Laurentian University
• Faisal Bhabha, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Language Rights Support Program (LRSP)
• Geneviève Boudreau, Director
• Pierre Foucher, Analyst and Professor
Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada
• Sylviane Lanthier, President
• Audrey LaBrie, Vice-President
Quebec Community Groups Network
• Hon. Marlene Jennings
• Sylvia Martin-Laforge, Director General
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Access to the Justice System.

Noël A.J. Badiou, Faisal Bhabha, Geneviève Boudreau and Pierre Foucher made statements and answered questions.

At 9:49 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:54 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Sylviane Lanthier, Audrey LaBrie, Sylvia Martin-Laforge and the Hon. Marlene Jennings made statements and answered questions.

At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee