Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, November 22, 2016, 11:00 a.m. to 1:14 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Bill Blair (Liberal)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
Canadian Institute of Actuaries
• Jacques Y. Boudreau, Chair, Genetic Testing Committee
• Robert Howard, Former President
Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
• Stephen Frank, Senior Vice-President, Policy
• Frank Zinatelli, Vice-President and General Counsel
As an individual
• Ronald Cohn, Paediatrician-in-Chief, Hospital For Sick Children
• Hugo Cyr, Dean, Faculty of Political Science and Law, Université du Québec à Montréal
• Peter Hogg, Scholar in Residence, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
• Bruce Ryder, Associate Professor
• Pierre Thibault, Assistant Dean and Counsel, Civil Law Section, University of Ottawa
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 26, 2016, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill S-201, An Act to prohibit and prevent genetic discrimination.

Bruce Ryder, Peter Hogg, Hugo Cyr and Pierre Thibault made statements and answered questions.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:18 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jacques Y. Boudreau, Robert Howard, Ronald Cohn, Frank Zinatelli and Stephen Frank made statements and answered questions.

At 1:14 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee