Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 20
Thursday, May 19, 2016, 8:48 a.m. to 10:52 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Alain Rayes for Hon. Rob Nicholson (Conservative)
• David Tilson for Ted Falk (Conservative)
• Bill Blair (Liberal)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Christine Morris, Analyst
Canada Without Poverty
• Michèle Biss, Legal Education and Outreach Coordinator
• Harriett McLachlan, President, Board of Directors
Egale Canada Human Rights Trust
• R. Douglas Elliott, Member, Honorary Advisory Board
Metro Toronto Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic
• Avvy Go, Clinic Director
DisAbled Women's Network of Canada
• Carmela Hutchison, President
Charter Committee on Poverty Issues
• Bonnie Morton, Chairperson
Social Rights Advocacy Centre
• Bruce Porter, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Access to the Justice System.

Avvy Go, R. Douglas Elliott and Carmela Hutchison made statements and answered questions.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:52 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Bruce Porter, Harriett McLachlan, Michèle Biss and Bonnie Morton made statements and answered questions.

At 10:52 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee