Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 11
Tuesday, May 3, 2016, 8:47 a.m. to 10:49 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians
• Dr. Monica Branigan, Chair, Working Group on Hastened Death
Quebec Association for the Right to Die with Dignity
• Dr. Georges L'Espérance, President
• Dr. Nacia Faure, Former Endocrinologist and Palliative Care Doctor
Canadian Association of Social Workers
• Sally Guy, Social Worker and Policy Analyst
Canadian Medical Protective Association
• Hartley Stern, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
• Domenic A. Crolla, General Counsel
As an individual
• Theo Boer, Professor, Ethics
• Juliet Guichon, Assistant Professor, University of Calgary Cumming School of Medecine
• Dr. Ian Mitchell, Peadiatrician and Professor, University of Calgary Cumming School of Medecine
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 21, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Subject Matter of Bill C-14, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying).

Sally Guy, Georges L'Espérance, Nacia Faure and Theo Boer, by videoconference from Cologne, Germany, made statements and answered questions.

At 9:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:49 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Harley Stern, Domenic A. Crolla, Monica Branigan, Juliet Guichon and Ian Mitchell made statements and answered questions.

At 10:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee