Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 109
Wednesday, September 26, 2018, 3:27 p.m. to 7:45 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
As individuals
• Debra Parkes, Professor and Chair in Feminist Legal Studies, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia
• Emilie Taman, Lawyer
All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Prevention of Genocide and other Crimes against Humanity
• Ali Ehsassi, Chair
Families For Justice
• Sheri Arsenault, Director, Alberta
• Markita Kaulius, President
• George Marrinier
Student Legal Aid Services Societies
• Lisa Cirillo, Representative
• Suzanne Johnson, Representative
• Douglas D. Ferguson, Representative
Association of Justice Counsel
• Ursula Hendel, President
Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic
• Deepa Mattoo, Director, Legal Services
• Simran Dosanjh, Law Student
B'nai Brith Canada
• Brian Herman, Director, Government Relations
• Leo Adler, Senior Legal Counsel
Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs
• Shimon Koffler Fogel, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 11, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-75, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the Youth Criminal Justice Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Douglas D. Ferguson, Lisa Cirillo, Suzanne Johnson, Debra Parkes, Emilie Taman, Ali Ehsassi, Sheri Arsenault and Markita Kaulius, by videoconference from Burnaby, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ursula Hendel, Leo Adler, Brian Herman, Shimon Koffler Fogel and Deepa Mattoo, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 7:45 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Committee Clerk