Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 107
Monday, September 24, 2018, 3:28 p.m. to 8:50 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Peter Fragiskatos for Ali Ehsassi (Liberal)
• Peter Fragiskatos for Ron McKinnon (Liberal)
• Raj Grewal for Ali Ehsassi (Liberal)
• Ruby Sahota for Ron McKinnon (Liberal)
• Dave Van Kesteren for Dave MacKenzie (Conservative)
• Nick Whalen for Ali Ehsassi (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair.

On motion of Dave MacKenzie, it was agreed, — That Tony Clement be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.


Murray Rankin moved, — That, given the recent pronouncements of the Premier of Ontario, in response to the judgment of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in City of Toronto et al v. Ontario (Attorney General) 2018 ONSC 5151, to the effect that the notwithstanding clause may be invoked on a regular basis, raising serious questions of constitutional law, the Committee undertake, as soon as possible, a study into the potential for the routine invocation of section 33 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (“the notwithstanding clause”); and that, as part of this study, the Committee invite to appear constitutional experts and Attorneys General, hold at least five meetings and report its findings to the House.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 4; NAYS: 5.

As individuals
• Daniel Brown, Lawyer, Daniel Brown Law
• Laurelly Dale, Criminal Defense Counsel, Dale Law Professional Corporation
• Maria Mourani, Criminologist and Sociologist, President of Mourani-Criminologie
• Elizabeth Sheehy, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
• Lisa A. Silver, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary
• Kathryn Smithen, Barrister and Solicitor, Child and Family Advocacy Services, Smithen Law
• Michael Spratt, Criminal Lawyer, Abergel Goldstein and Partners
• Marie-Eve Sylvestre, Full Professor, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section, University of Ottawa
Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers
• Richard Fowler
• Rosellen Sullivan
Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police
• Howard Chow, Deputy Chief Constable, Vancouver Police Department
• Rachel Huntsman, Legal Counsel, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Vancouver Rape Relief and Women's Shelter
• Daisy Kler, Transition House Worker
Joy Smith Foundation Inc.
• Joy Smith, Founder and President
London Abused Women's Centre
• Megan Walker, Executive Director
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 11, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-75, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the Youth Criminal Justice Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Laurelly Dale, Michael Spratt, Richard Fowler and Rosellen Sullivan made statements and answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Lisa A. Silver, Daniel Brown and Howard Chow made statements and, with Rachel Huntsman, answered questions.

At 5:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Daisy Kler, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Elizabeth Sheehy and Kathryn Smithen made statements.

At 6:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Daisy Kler, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Elizabeth Sheehy and Kathryn Smithen answered questions.

At 7:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Joy Smith, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Maria Mourani, by videoconference from Fukuoka, Japan, Marie-Eve Sylvestre and Megan Walker made statements and answered questions.

At 8:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Committee Clerk