Skip to main content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 100
Thursday, May 31, 2018, 3:42 p.m. to 5:07 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
As individuals
• Julie Kaye, Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of Saskatchewan
• Ann De Shalit, Ph.D. Candidate, Policy Studies, Ryerson University
• Emily van der Meulen, Associate Professor, Department of Criminology, Ryerson University
Peers Victoria Resources Society
• Sadie Forbes, Member, Board of Directors
• Rachel Phillips, Executive Director
• Ellie Jones, Director of Programming
• Melendy Muise, Support Specialist, Coalition Against the Sexual Exploitation of Youth
Tungasuvvingat Inuit
• Kathy Morgan, President of the Board of Directors and Registered Nurse
• Jennisha Wilson, Manager, Alluriarniq Department: Sex Work, Exiting the Sex Trade and Anti-Human Trafficking Programs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, June 8, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of human trafficking in Canada.

Rachel Phillips, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, Sadie Forbes, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, Julie Kaye, Emily van der Meulen, Ann De Shalit, Melendy Muise, Ellie Jones and Jennisha Wilson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee