Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 5
Tuesday, March 8, 2016, 3:57 p.m. to 5:13 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

• Terry Beech (Liberal)
• Greg Fergus (Liberal)
• Gudie Hutchings (Liberal)
• Blake Richards (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Mathieu Frigon, Analyst
• André Léonard, Analyst
Canadian Tourism Commission
• David Goldstein, President and Chief Executive Officer, Destination Canada
• Sarah Sidhu, General Counsel and Board Secretary, Destination Canada
• Gilles Verret, Vice President, Strategy and Communications , Destination Canada
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed an Overview of the Organisations under Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

David Goldstein made an opening statement and answered questions.


Maxime Bernier moved, — That the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Economic Development of the House of Commons convenes the company Bombardier Inc. to enlighten the committee on its financial position and explains the reasons that led it to request a financial assistance to the Government of Canada.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Maxime Bernier, Earl Dreeshen, Brian Masse, Alexander Nuttall — 4;

NAYS: René Arseneault, Chandra Arya, Frank Baylis, Majid Jowhari, Lloyd Longfield — 5.

At 5:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee