Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 142
Wednesday, December 5, 2018, 4:22 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
Copyright Board
• Sylvain Audet, General Counsel
• Gilles McDougall, Secretary General
• Nathalie Théberge, Vice-Chair and Chief Executive Officer
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Kahlil Cappuccino, Director, Copyright Policy, Creative Marketplace and Innovation Branch
• Pierre-Marc Lauzon, Policy Analyst, Copyright Policy, Creative Marketplace and Innovation Branch
Department of Industry
• Mark Schaan, Director General, Marketplace Framework Policy Branch
• Martin Simard, Director, Copyright and Trademark Policy Directorate
As individuals
• Pascale Chapdelaine, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Windsor
• Warren Sheffer, Hebb & Sheffer
• Myra Tawfik, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Windsor
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Nathalie Théberge, Mark Schaan and Kahlil Cappuccino made statements and, with Sylvain Audet and Martin Simard, answered questions.

At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Warren Sheffer, Myra Tawfik and Pascale Chapdelaine made statements and answered questions.

At 5:45 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee