Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 139
Monday, November 26, 2018, 3:30 p.m. to 5:29 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

• Earl Dreeshen for Hon. Michael D. Chong (Conservative)
• Neil R. Ellis for Majid Jowhari (Liberal)
• Pierre Nantel for Brian Masse (NDP)
• Bev Shipley for Dane Lloyd (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
As an individual
• Jeff Price, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Audiam Inc.
Facebook Inc.
• Kevin Chan, Head of Public Policy
• Probir Mehta, Head of Global Intellectual Property Policy
Google Canada
• Jason J. Kee, Public Policy and Government Relations Counsel
• Darren Schmidt, Senior Counsel
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Jeff Price, Kevin Chan, Jason J. Kee and Darren Schmidt made statements and, with Probir Mehta, answered questions.

Dan Albas gave notice of the following motion:

That the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), undertake a study of no less than 4 meetings to investigate the impacts of the announced closure of the General Motors plant in Oshawa, and its impacts on the wider economy and province of Ontario.

At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee