Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 129
Monday, October 1, 2018, 3:29 p.m. to 5:23 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
Association québécoise de la production médiatique
• Marie-Christine Beaudry, Director, Legal and Business Affairs, Zone 3
• Hélène Messier, President and Chief Executive Officer
Association des réalisateurs et réalisatrices du Québec
• Mylène Cyr, Executive Director
• Gabriel Pelletier, President
Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec
• Marie-Josée Dupré, Executive Director
TELUS Communications Inc.
• Ann Mainville-Neeson, Vice-President, Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs
• Antoine Malek, Senior Regulatory Legal Counsel
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Dan Albas gave notice of the following motion:

That, to assist in the review of the Copyright Act, the Committee request Ministers Freeland and Bains, alongside officials, to come before the Committee and explain the impacts of the United-States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) on the intellectual property and copyright regimes in Canada.

Ann Mainville-Neeson, Hélène Messier, Marie-Christine Beaudry, Marie-Josée Dupré, by videoconference from Montreal, Quebec, Gabriel Pelletier and Mylène Cyr made statements and, with Antoine Malek, answered questions.

At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee