Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 106
Monday, May 7, 2018, 1:59 p.m. to 5:26 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
University of New Brunswick
• Lesley Balcom, Dean
• H.E.A. (Eddy) Campbell, President and Vice-Chancellor
As an individual
• Andrea Bear Nicholas, Professor Emeritus
Council of Atlantic University Libraries
• Donna Bourne-Tyson, Chair of the Board of Directors and University Librarian, Dalhousie University
• Andrea Stewart, Board of Directors Liaison to the Copyright Committee and Director of Libraries and Educational Technology
Nimbus Publishing
• Terrilee Bulger, Co-owner
Music Nova Scotia
• Scott Long, Executive Director
Canadian Publishers Hosted Software Solutions
• James Lorimer, Treasurer
Dalhousie Faculty Association
• David Westwood, President
Association of Nova Scotia University Teachers
• Teresa Workman, Communications Manager
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Donna Bourne-Tyson, Eddy Campbell, Terrilee Bulger and Teresa Workman made statements and, with Lesley Balcom and Andrea Stewart, answered questions.

At 3:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Westwood, Scott Long, James Lorimer and Andrea Bear Nicholas made statements and answered questions.

At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee