Skip to main content Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 46
Thursday, February 23, 2017, 11:05 a.m. to 11:31 a.m.
In Camera
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)

• Chandra Arya for Dan Ruimy (Liberal)
• Glen Motz for Mark Warawa (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Julie Mackenzie, Analyst
• Mayra Perez-Leclerc, Analyst
House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That pursuant to Standing Order 97.1, the Committee request an extension of thirty (30) sitting days to consider Bill C-243, An Act respecting the development of a national maternity assistance program strategy and amending the Employment Insurance Act (maternity benefits), referred to the Committee on Wednesday, October 26, 2016, and that the Chair present this request to the House.

It was agreed, — That the Committee invite the Hon. Patty Hajdu, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, the Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development, and the Hon. Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, to appear before the Committee regarding the Main Estimates 2017-18 for two (2) hours, at their earliest convenience, and that the meeting be televised.

At 11:31 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee