Skip to main content Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 20
Tuesday, October 4, 2016, 8:47 a.m. to 10:43 a.m.
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)

• Terry Duguid (Liberal)
• Karen Vecchio (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Julie Mackenzie, Analyst
House of Commons
• Thomas Bigelow, Procedural Clerk
As an individual
• Brian Hill
• Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos, P.C., M.P., Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Louise Levonian, Deputy Minister
• Kathryn McDade, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Security and Social Development
• Jacques Paquette, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Service Policy Branch
• Paul Thompson, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills and Employment Branch
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
• Carla Staresina, Vice-President, Affordable Housing
• Michel Tremblay, Senior Vice-President, Policy, Research and Public Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, June 13, 2016, the Committee commenced its study of poverty reduction strategies.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:58 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Louise Levonian, Michel Tremblay, Carla Staresina, Jacques Paquette and Paul Thompson answered questions.

At 10:43 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee