Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 64
Monday, September 11, 2017, 8:32 a.m. to 5:24 p.m.
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Department of Health
• Jacqueline Bogden, Assistant Deputy Minister, Cannabis Legalization and Regulation Branch
• Eric Costen, Director General, Cannabis Legalization and Regulation Branch
Department of Justice
• Carole Morency, Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
• Diane Labelle, General Counsel, Health Canada Legal Services
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Kathy Thompson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch
• Trevor Bhupsingh, Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Joanne Crampton, Assistant Commissioner, Federal Policing Criminal Operations
As individuals
• Hon. Anne McLellan, Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones LLP
• Michael Spratt, Criminal Lawyer, Abergel Goldstein and Partners
• Mark Ware, Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine, McGill University
Canadian Association for Pharmacy Distribution Management
• David Johnston, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Pharmacists Association
• Shelita Dattani, Director, Practice Development and Knowledge Translation
Canadian Medical Cannabis Council
• Philippe Lucas, Executive Director
Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance
• Keith Jones, Chair, Government Relations
• Robert Rae, Director
Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice
• Dale Tesarowski, Executive Director, Corporate Initiatives, Performance and Planning
Cannabis Canada Association
• Colette Rivet, Executive Director
• Sébastien St. Louis, Member of Board of Directors
Canada Border Services Agency
• Jennifer Lutfallah, Director General, Enforcement and Intelligence Programs
Canadian Medical Association
• Laurent Marcoux, President
• Jeff Blackmer, Vice-President, Medical Professionalism
Vancouver Police Department
• Martin Bruce, Inspector, Organized Crime Section
• Bill Spearn, Staff Sergeant, Organized Crime Section
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, June 8, 2017, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts.

Jacqueline Bogden made a statement.

The Committee observed a moment of silence in memory of the 9/11 victims.

Carole Morency, Kathy Thompson, Joanne Crampton, Diane Labelle, Jacqueline Bogden and Eric Costen answered questions.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:43 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Hon. Anne McLellan, Mark Ware, Michael Spratt, David Johnston and Shelita Dattani made statements and answered questions.

At 12:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:47 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Philippe Lucas, Keith Jones, Dale Tesarowski and Colette Rivet made statements and, with Sébastien St-Louis and Robert Rae, answered questions.

At 3:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Martin Bruce, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Laurent Marcoux and Trevor Bhupsingh made statements and, with Bill Spern, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Jeff Blackmer and Jennifer Lutfallah, answered questions.

At 5:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee