Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 153
Thursday, June 13, 2019, 3:26 p.m. to 5:07 p.m.
Video recorded session
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Michel Bédard, Deputy Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
• Brandon Potter, Legal Counsel
Library of Parliament
• Nadia Faucher, Analyst
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
As individuals
• Alisa Lombard, Lawyer, Semaganis Worme Lombard
• Karen Stote, Assistant Professor, Women and Gender Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University
Native Women's Association of Canada
• Francyne Joe, President
• Chaneesa Ryan, Director of Health
Women of the Métis Nation / Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak
• Melanie Omeniho, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, January 31, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of forced sterilization of women in Canada.

Alisa Lombard, Francyne Joe, Karen Stote and Melanie Omeniho made statements and, with Chaneesa Ryan, answered questions.


Robert-Falcon Ouellette moved, — That, in relation to the study of forced sterilization of women in Canada, the Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Brenda Lucki, be invited to appear on Tuesday, June 18, 2019.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 9; NAYS: 0.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Jacques
Clerk of the Committee