Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 15
Wednesday, June 8, 2016, 3:50 p.m. to 5:51 p.m.
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
• Alain Beaudet, President
• Thérèse Roy, Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President, Resource Planning and Management Portfolio
Public Health Agency of Canada
• Elaine Chatigny, Branch Head, Health Security and Infrastructure Branch
• Carlo Beaudoin, Chief Financial Officer, Office of the Chief Financial Officer
Department of Health
• Jamie Tibbetts, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Officer Branch
• Mary-Luisa Kapelus, Director General, Strategic Policy, Planning, and Information, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
• Paul Mayers, Vice President, Policy and Programs Branch
• Dominique Osterrath, Executive Director, Financial Services
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (A) 2016-17: Votes 1a and 5a under Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Votes 1a and 5a under Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Votes 1a, 5a and 10a under Health, Vote 1a under Public Health Agency of Canada, referred to the Committee on Tuesday, May 10, 2016.

The Chair called Vote 1a under Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Jamie Tibbetts, Alain Beaudet, Paul Mayers and Carlo Beaudoin made statements and, with Mary-Luisa Kapelus and Élaine Chatigny, answered questions.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:17 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a draft budget respecting the Committee’s proposed travel to the Netherlands, United Kingdom and Sweden, in relation to its study of the Development of a National Pharmacare Program, be prepared and considered by the Committee on Monday, June 13, 2016.

It was agreed, — That the meeting on June 15, 2016, be dedicated to the study of Bill C-224, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (assistance - drug overdose).

At 5:51 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee