Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 119
Tuesday, October 30, 2018, 8:47 a.m. to 10:50 a.m.
In Camera
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Nadia Faucher, Analyst
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 9:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:08 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Liv-A-Little Foundation
• Erin Little, President
Department of Health
• Catherine Parker, Director General, Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
• Karen Reynolds, Executive Director, Office of Pharmaceuticals Management Strategies
• John Patrick Stewart, Director General, Therapeutic Products Directorate
atypical Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome Canada
• Caryn Vowles, Board Member
• Mary Jane Vowles, Board Member, Canada
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 18, 2018, the Committee resumed its study on barriers to access to treatment and drugs for Canadians affected by rare diseases and disorders.

Erin Little and Mary Jane Vowles made statements and, with Caryn Vowles, answered questions.

At 10:19 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:24 a.m., the sitting resumed.

John Patrick Stewart, Karen Reynolds and Catherine Parker answered questions.

At 10:50 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-Hélène Sauvé
Clerk of the Committee