Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 99
Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 12:05 p.m. to 1:23 p.m.
Bernadette Jordan, Chair (Liberal)

• Ron Liepert for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
• Robert Sopuck for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Daniele Lafrance, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Ron Bonnett, President
Tsleil-Waututh Nation
• Bridget Doyle, Natural Resources Planner, Treaty, Lands and Resources Department
• Matt Thomas, Acting Director, Economic Development
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
• Matt Gemmel, Manager, Policy and Research
• Daniel Rubinstein, Director, Policy and Research
Fédération régionale acadienne des pêcheurs professionnels
• Jean Lanteigne, Director General
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
• Ray Orb, President
As an individual
• Martin Olszynski, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 16, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-68, An Act to amend the Fisheries Act and other Acts in consequence.

Matt Thomas, by videoconference from North Vancouver, British Columbia, Ray Orb, by videoconference from Regina, Saskatchewan, and Ron Bonnett made statements and, with Bridget Doyle, by videoconference from North Vancouver, British Columbia, answered questions.

At 12:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That the Committee adjourn after hearing the statements from the next witnesses.

At 12:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Martin Olszynski, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Jean Lanteigne, Daniel Rubinstein and Matt Gemmel made statements.

At 1:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee