Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 67
Thursday, June 15, 2017, 8:46 a.m. to 10:51 a.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Daniele Lafrance, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
As individuals
• Rodolphe Devillers, Professor, Department of Geography, Memorial University of Newfoundland
• Trevor Ward, Adjunct Professor, University of Technology Sydney
Pacific Halibut Management Association of British Columbia
• Chris Sporer, Executive Manager
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, December 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Oceans Act’s marine protected areas.

Rodolphe Devillers, Chris Sporer, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Trevor Ward by videoconference from Perth, Australia, made statements and answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.

• Terry Beech, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Catherine Blewett, Deputy Minister
• Philippe Morel, Acting Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management
• Tony Matson, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer
• Jeffery Hutchinson, Commissioner of the Canadian Coast Guard
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study of Subject Matter of Supplementary Estimates (A) 2017-18: Votes 1a, 5a and 10a under Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

Terry Beech made a statement and, with Catherine Blewett, Philippe Morel, Tony Matson and Jeffery Hutchinson, answered questions.

At 10:51 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee