Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 143
Monday, May 6, 2019, 3:26 p.m. to 6:22 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Fin Donnelly gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee hold a meeting for the clause by clause consideration of Bill S-238 as soon as possible.

Central Kootenay Invasive Species Society
• Erin Bates, Executive Director
Shuswap Watershed Council
• Paul Demenok, Chair
• Erin Vieira, Program Manager
Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters
• Matt DeMille, Manager, Fish and Wildlife Services
• Sophie Monfette, Coordinator, Invading Species Awareness Program
Miramichi Salmon Association Inc.
• Mark Hambrook, President
Alberta Irrigation Districts Association
• Margo Jarvis Redelback, Executive Director
Rural Municipalities of Alberta
• Al Kemmere, President
Canadian Council on Invasive Species
• Bob McLean, Strategic Partnerships
New Brunswick Invasive Species Council
• Paula Noel, Volunteer Member
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
• Raymond Orb, President
Canadian Electricity Association
• Michael B. Powell, Director, Government Relations
• David Stanley, Senior Environmental Specialist, Ontario Power Generation
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 30, 2018, and Wednesday, May 1, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of aquatic invasive species.

Margo Jarvis Redelback, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Raymond Orb, by videoconference from Regina, Saskatchewan, Paul Demenok, by videoconference from Kamloops, British Columbia, Bob McLean and Matt DeMille made statements and, with Sophie Monfette, and Erin Vieira, by videoconference from Kamloops, British Columbia, answered questions.

At 4:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Erin Bates, by teleconference from Nelson, British Columbia, Paula Noel, by videoconference from Fredericton, New Brunswick, Al Kemmere, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Michael B. Powell, David Stanley and Mark Hambrook made statements and answered questions.

At 6:18 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit for about five minutes.

At 6:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Committee Clerk