Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 115
Tuesday, October 30, 2018, 3:31 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
Area 19 Snow Crab Fishermen's Association
• Basil MacLean, President
Canadian Ferry Association
• Serge Buy, Chief Executive Officer
Lazy Bear Expeditions
• Walter Daudrich, President
Omega Pacific Hatchery Inc.
• Carol Schmitt, President
Shipping Federation of Canada
• Sonia Simard, Director, Legislative Affairs
Sport Fishing Institute of British Columbia
• Owen Bird, Executive Director
• Martin Paish, Director, Business Development
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority
• Carrie Brown, Director, Environmental Programs
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 6, 2018, the Committee resumed its study on the situation of endangered whales (M-154).

Basil MacLean, Owen Bird and Martin Paish, and Carol Schmitt, by teleconference from Port Alberni, British Columbia, made statements and, with Brian Tutty, by teleconference from Port Alberni, British Columbia, answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Serge Buy, Sonia Simard, Carrie Brown, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Walter Daudrich made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee