Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 113
Thursday, October 25, 2018, 3:48 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
Association des crabiers acadiens
• Robert Haché, General Manager
Fédération régionale acadienne des pêcheurs professionnels
• Jean Lanteigne, Director General
Fisheries Council of Canada
• Paul Lansbergen, President
Fundy North Fishermen's Association
• Maria Recchia, Executive Advisor
Grand Manan Fishermen's Association
• Bonnie Morse, Project Manager
• Melanie Sonnenberg, General Manager
Maritime Fishermen's Union
• Carl Allen, President
• Martin Mallet, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 6, 2018, the Committee commenced its study on the situation of endangered whales (M-154).

Robert Haché and Jean Lanteigne, by videoconference from Shippagan, New Brunswick, made statements.

At 4:02 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Jean Lanteigne resumed his statement.

Paul Lansbergen made a statement.

At 4:13 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), the sitting was suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Maria Recchia, by videoconference from St. Andrews, New Brunswick, Melanie Sonnenberg and Bonnie Morse, and Carl Allen and Martin Mallet, made statements.

Melanie Sonnenberg, Bonnie Morse, Carl Allen, Robert Haché, Martin Mallet, Paul Lansbergen and, Maria Recchia, by videoconference from St. Andrews, New Brunswick, answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee