Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 100
Thursday, May 3, 2018, 8:46 a.m. to 10:46 a.m.
Bernadette Jordan, Chair (Liberal)

• Ramez Ayoub for Ken Hardie (Liberal)
• Sean Casey for Churence Rogers (Liberal)
• Hon. John McKay for Churence Rogers (Liberal)
• Cathay Wagantall for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
Fisheries Council of Canada
• Paul Lansbergen, President
Forest Products Association of Canada
• Kate Lindsay, Vice-President, Sustainability and Environmental Partnerships
Coldwater Lobster Association
• Bernie Berry, President
Canadian Wildlife Federation
• Nick Lapointe, Senior Conservation Biologist, Freshwater Ecology
• David Browne, Director of Conservation
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
• Chris J. Bloomer, President and Chief Executive Officer
Seafood Producers Association of British Columbia
• Chris Sporer, Executive Director
• Christina Burridge, Executive Director, BC Seafood Alliance
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 16, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-68, An Act to amend the Fisheries Act and other Acts in consequence.

Bernie Berry, by teleconference from Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Paul Lansbergen and Kate Lindsay made statements and answered questions.

At 9:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Chris J. Bloomer, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Chris Sporer and Christina Burridge, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, David Brown and Nick Lapointe made statements and answered questions.

At 10:46 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee