Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 47
Friday, October 21, 2016, 9:04 a.m. to 3:01 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• June Dewetering, Analyst
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
Canadian Coalition for Green Finance
• Lorraine Becker, Executive Director
Alzheimer Society of Canada
• Debbie Benczkowski, Chief Operating Officer
Community Unemployed Help Centre
• Neil Cohen, Executive Director
Greater Toronto Airports Authority
• Scott Collier, Vice President, Customer and Terminal Services
Financial Executives International Canada
• Michael Conway, President and Chief Executive Officer
Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada
• Glenn Harkness, Executive Director
Earth Rangers
• Peter Kendall, Executive Director
Canadian Health Food Association
• Helen Long, President
Canadian Cancer Society
• Gabriel Miller, Vice President, Public Issues, Policy and Cancer Information
Friends of Canadian Broadcasting
• Ian Morrison, Spokesperson
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association
• Mark Nantais, President
Good Jobs for All Coalition
• Winnie Ng, Co-chair, EI Working Group
General Motors of Canada Limited
• David Paterson, Vice-President, Corporate and Environmental Affairs
Canadian Urban Transit Research and Innovation Consortium
• Josipa Gordana Petrunic, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Stem Cell Foundation
• James Price, President and Chief Executive Officer
Habitat for Humanity Canada
• Mark Rodgers, President and Chief Executive Officer
Royal Conservatory of Music
• Peter Simon, President and Chief Executive Officer
Macdonald-Laurier Institute
• Sean Speer, Munk Senior Fellow
Canadian Geothermal Energy Association
• Alison Thompson, Chair of the Board
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Digital Hub
• Philip Upshall, Chief Financial Officer
HSBC Bank Canada
• David Watt, Chief Economist
As an individual
• Donald K. Johnson
• James Hershaw
• David Masters
• Peter Venton
• Brian Cheung
• Imad Abdulkadir
• Hailey Froese
• Hannah Girdler
• Justin Manuel
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2017 budget.

Debbie Benczkowski, Glenn Harkness, Alison Thompson, Helen Long, Peter Kendall, Neil Cohen, Philip Upshall and David Paterson made statements and answered questions.

At 10:41 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Josipa Gordana Petrunic, Winnie Ng, Gabriel Miller, Lorraine Becker, Michael Conway, James Price and Peter Simon made statements and answered questions.

At 12:18 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:56 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Nantais, Scott Collier, Mark Rodgers, Sean Speer, David Watt, Ian Morrison and Donald K. Johnson made statements and answered questions.

At 2:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

James Hershaw, David Masters, Peter Venton, Brian Cheung, Imad Abdulkadir, Hailey Froese, Hannah Girdler and Justin Manuel made statements.

At 3:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee