Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 44
Tuesday, October 18, 2016, 9:00 a.m. to 12:53 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• June Dewetering, Analyst
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
Province of Prince Edward Island
• Hon. Allen F. Roach, M.P., Minister of Finance
• David Arsenault, Deputy Minister of Finance
Prince Edward Island Fishermen's Association
• Craig Avery, President
• Ian MacPherson, Executive Director
Cooper Institute
• Josie Baker, Coordinator
• Ann Wheatley, Coordinator
P.E.I. Literacy Alliance
• Amanda Beazley, Executive Director, Atlantic Partnership for Literacy and Essential Skills
Canadian Camping and RV Council
• Wayne Hambly, President, P.E.I. Home and RV Centre
• Shane Devenish, Executive Director
Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture
• Mary Robinson, President
• Robert Godfrey, Executive Director
Literacy Nova Scotia
• Jayne Hunter, Executive Director, Atlantic Partnership for Essential Skills
PEI BioAlliance
• Ron Keefe, Executive Board Member
• Martin Yuill, Director, Emergence, Bio Incubator
PEI Coalition For Fair EI
• Lori MacKay, Chair
• Michael Pearson, President
BioVectra Inc.
• Oliver Technow, President
• Heather Delage, Vice-President, Business Development
Greater Charlottetown Area Chamber of Commerce
• Penny Walsh McGuire, Executive Director
St. John's Status of Women Council
• Jenny Wright, Executive Director
P.E.I. Health Coalition
• Leo Broderick
As an individual
• Joseph Byrne
• Edith Perry
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2017 budget.

Oliver Technow, Penny Walsh McGuire, Ron Keefe, Amanda Beazley, Ian MacPherson, Mary Robinson and Robert Godfrey made statements and, with Jayne Hunter and Craig Avery, answered questions.

At 10:36 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Shane Devenish, Ann Wheatley, Josie Baker, Michael Pearson, Jenny Wright, the Hon. Allen F. Roach and Lori MacKay made statements and answered questions.

At 12:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Leo Broderick, Edith Perry and Joseph Byrne made statements.

At 12:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee