Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 187
Wednesday, November 7, 2018, 3:40 p.m. to 6:32 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
Canada Without Poverty
• Leilani Farha, Executive Director
• Harriett McLachlan, Deputy Director
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
• Katherine Scott, Senior Researcher
Canadian Council for International Co-operation
• Fraser Reilly-King, Research and Policy Manager
• Gavin Charles, Policy Officer
Canadian Labour Congress
• Hassan Yussuff, President
• Vicky Smallman, Director, Women's and Human Rights
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Annick Desjardins, Executive Assistant, National President's Office
Canadians for Fair Access to Medical Marijuana
• James O'Hara, President and Chief Executive Officer
First Nations Lands Management Resource Centre
• Austin Bear, Chair
• Robert Louie, Chair of Advisory Board
Intellectual Property Institute of Canada
• Grant Lynds, Past President
NVision Insight Group Inc.
• Matt Mehaffey, Senior Policy Advisor, Carcross Tagish First Nation
• Corinne McKay, Secretary-Treasurer, Nisga'a Nation
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Magali Picard, National Executive Vice-President
• Helen Berry, Legal Officer
YWCA Canada
• Anjum Sultana, Manager, Policy & Strategic Communications
As an individual
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, November 6, 2018, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-86, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018 and other measures.

Katharine Scott, Gavin Charles, Fraser Reilly-King, Hassan Yussuff, Annick Desjardins, Harriett McLachlan, Leilani Farha and Anjum Sultana made statements and, with Vicky Smallman, answered questions.

At 4:50 p.m., the Hon. Pierre Poilièvre took the Chair.

At 4:59 p.m., the Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

James O'Hara, Robert Louie, Grant Lynds, Corinne McKay, Magalie Picard and Michael Geist made statements and, with Matt Mehaffey and Helen Berry, answered questions.

At 6:16 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 6:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee