Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 170
Monday, October 1, 2018, 8:51 a.m. to 12:25 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Leona Alleslev for Blake Richards (Conservative)
• Pat Kelly for Hon. Pierre Poilievre (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Blair Corkum Financial Planning Inc.
• Blair Corkum, President
Bulk Carriers PEI Limited
• Tyson Kelly, Vice-President, Sales and Logistics
• Mike Schut, Vice-President, Administration and Human Resources
Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association
• Robert W.J. Ghiz, President and Chief Executive Officer
East Prince Agri-Environment Association
• Andrew Lawless, Board Member
Engineers Without Borders Canada
• Iker Zulbaran, Member, University of Prince Edward Island Chapter
Greater Charlottetown Area Chamber of Commerce
• Jennifer Evans, President
• Penny Walsh-McGuire, Chief Executive Officer
• Barry Gander, Co-Founder
• Tony Walters, Vice-President
National Association of Federal Retirees
• Shirley Pierce, Advocacy Officer, Prince Edward Island
National Farmers Union
• Douglas Campbell, District Director, Prince Edward Island
• Reg Phelan, National Board Member
PEI Home and School Federation
• Karen Clare, Volunteer
PEI Select Tours Inc.
• Kelly Doyle, President
• Katsue Masuda
Prince Edward Island Potato Board
• Brenda Simmons, Assistant General Manager
Summerside Port Corporation Inc.
• Arnold Croken, Chief Executive Officer
Trout River Environmental Committee Inc.
• Colin Jeffrey, Director
As individuals
• Deborah Calviello
• Mary Cowper-Smith
• Mike Durant
• Stuart Hickox
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2019 budget.

Karen Clare, Shirley Pierce and Deborah Calviello made statements.

Mike Durant, Blair Corkum, Mike Schut, Jennifer Evans, Penny Walsh-McGuire, Barry Gander, Tony Walters and Kelly Doyle made statements and, with Katsue Masuda and Tyson Kelly, answered questions.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Robert W.J. Ghiz, Andrew Lawless, Reg Phelan, Brenda Simmons, Arnold Croken and Collin Jeffrey made statements and, with Douglas Campbell, answered questions.

Iker Zulbaran, Stuart Hickox and Mary Cowper-Smith made statements.

At 12:25 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee