Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 118
Thursday, October 19, 2017, 8:53 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
McMaster University
• Robert Baker, Vice-President, Research
Earth Rangers
• Tovah Barocas, Vice-President, External Relations
Canadian Convenience Stores Association
• Satinder Chera, President
Institute for Quantum Computing
• Tobi Day-Hamilton, Director, Communications and Strategic Initiatives, University of Waterloo
• Martin Laforest, Senior Manager, Scientific Outreach
Sarnia Lambton Chamber of Commerce
• Shirley De Silva, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Monica Shepley, Manager, Policy and Advocacy
• Christina Dendys, Interim Executive Director
Council of the Great Lakes Region
• Mark Fisher, President and Chief Executive Officer
City of London
• Jesse Helmer, Councillor
• Adam Thompson, Manager, Government and External Relations
3M Company Canada
• Elise Maheu, Director, Government Affairs
• Nicole Rayner, Senior Manager, Taxation
Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce
• Matthew Marchand, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Music Publishers Association
• Margaret McGuffin, Executive Director
As an individual
• Kamal Mann
• Jerome St-Denis
• Ron Watt
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2018 budget.

Jerome St-Denis, Ron Watt and Kamal Mann made statements.

Jesse Helmer, Rob Baker, Shirley De Silva, Elise Maheu and Mark Fisher made statements and, with Nicole Rayner and Monica Shepley, answered questions.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:49 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Satinder Chera, Margaret McGuffin, Tovah Barocas, Tobi Day-Hamilton, Christina Dendys and Matthew Marchand made statements and, with Martin Laforest, answered questions.

At 11:40 a.m., Dan Albas took the Chair.

At 11:51 a.m., the Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

At 12:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee