Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 114
Friday, October 6, 2017, 8:47 a.m. to 12:33 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Oxfam Canada
• Ricardo Acuna, Chair
Calgary Chamber of Commerce
• Zoe Addington, Director of Policy and Government Relations
• Adam Legge, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors
• John Bayko, Vice-President, Communications
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
• Chris J. Bloomer, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Ben Brunnen, Vice-President, Oil Sands, Fiscal and Economic Policy
Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
• Michael Holden, Chief Economist
Hotel Association of Canada
• David Kaiser, Member, Board of Directors
• Leanne Shaw, Vice-Chair, Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association
City of Calgary
• Naheed Nenshi, Mayor
Stem Cell Network
• Ubaka Ogbogu, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
• Ray Orb, President
Festivals and Major Events Canada
• Martin Roy, Executive Director
National Cattle Feeders' Association
• Casey Vander Ploeg, Vice-President
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
• Alex Zahavich, Vice-President of Corporate Development and Applied Research, Education
As an individual
• Shane Bishop
• Gillian Eloh
• John Forgeron
• Kenneth Goodall
• Saqib Qureshi
• Jeremy Zhao
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2018 budget.

Shane Bishop, Jeremy Zhao, John Forgeron and Saqib Qureshi made statements.

John Legge, John Bayko, Ben Brunnen, Martin Roy, Ricardo Acuna and Naheed Nenshi made statements and answered questions.

At 10:36 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:46 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Chris J. Bloomer, Michael Holden, David Kaiser, Casey Vander Ploeg, Ray Orb, Alex Zahavich and Ubaka Ogbogu made statements and answered questions.

At 12:23 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kenneth Goodall and Gillian Eloh made statements.

At 12:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee