Skip to main content Start of content

FEWO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 146
Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 8:46 a.m. to 10:44 a.m.
Karen Vecchio, Chair (Conservative)

• Ron Liepert for Rachael Harder (Conservative)
• Ron Liepert for Hon. K. Kellie Leitch (Conservative)
• Jean Yip for Eva Nassif (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Clare Annett, Analyst
• Dominique Montpetit, Analyst
As an individual
• Alan Okros
The WPS Group
• Kristine St-Pierre, Director
Department of National Defence
• BGen Virginia Tattersal, Deputy Commander, Military Personnel Generation
• BGen Lise Bourgon, Defence Champion, Women, Peace and Security
• Sean Cantelon, Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Forces Morale and Welfare Services
• Lisa Vandehei, Director of Gender, Diversity and Inclusion
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 19, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of the treatment of women within the Department of National Defence.

Alan Okros and Kristine St-Pierre made statements and answered questions.

At 9:41 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

BGen Virginia Tattersal, BGen Lise Bourgon, Sean Cantelon and Lisa Vandehei made statements and answered questions.

At 10:26 a.m., Salma Zahid took the Chair.

At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Kenza Gamassi
Clerk of the Committee