Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 100
Wednesday, June 6, 2018, 6:18 p.m. to 8:03 p.m.
Hon. Robert D. Nault, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
• Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Martin Benjamin, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Americas
• Mark Gwozdecky, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security and Political Affairs
• Heather Jeffrey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Consular, Emergency Management and Security
• Troy Lulashnyk, Director General, North Africa, Israel, West Bank/Gaza
• David Morrison, Associate Deputy Minister
• Sarah Taylor, Director General, North Asia and Oceania
• Arun Thangaraj, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2018-19: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 and L25 under Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, Vote 1 under International Development Research Centre, Vote 1 under International Joint Commission (Canadian Section), referred to the Committee on Monday, April 16, 2018.

The Chair calls Vote 1 under Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Sarah Taylor, Martin Benjamin, Mark Gwozdecky, Troy Lulashnyk and Heather Jeffrey answered questions.

At 7:52 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 8:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the Committee