Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 69
Wednesday, September 27, 2017, 3:31 p.m. to 5:29 p.m.
Bob Zimmer (Conservative)

• Hon. Steven Blaney for Hon. Peter Kent (Conservative)
• Peter Fragiskatos for Mona Fortier (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
Canada Border Services Agency
• Martin Bolduc, Vice-President, Programs Branch
• Robert Mundie, Acting Vice-President, Corporate Affairs Branch
Canadian Bar Association
• David Fraser, Executive Member, Privacy and Access Law Section
• Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Member-at-Large, Commodity Tax, Customs and Trade
As individuals
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
• Kris Klein, Partner, nNovation LLP
Canadian Air Transport Security Authority
• Natalie Sabourin, Manager , Information Management, Privacy and ATIP
• John Stroud, Vice-President, Corporate Services and Corporate Secretary
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vii) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 30, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of the privacy of Canadians at airports, borders and travelling in the United States.

John Stroud and Martin Bolduc made statements and, with Robert Mundie and Natalie Sabourin, answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Fraser, Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Michael Geist and Kris Klein made statements and answered questions.

At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Hugues La Rue
Clerk of the Committee