Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 59
Tuesday, May 9, 2017, 3:32 p.m. to 5:23 p.m.
Blaine Calkins, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Dewing, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Department of Industry
• Krista Campbell, Director General, Digital Policy Branch, Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications Sector
• Steve Joanisse, Legal Counsel, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Legal Services
• Charles Taillefer, Director, Digital Policy Branch, Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications Sector
Competition Bureau
• Morgan Currie, Associate Deputy Commissioner, Deceptive Marketing Practices Directorate
• Josephine Palumbo, Deputy Commissioner, Deceptive Marketing Practices Directorate
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Steven Harroun, Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer
• Daniel Roussy, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vi) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 1, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA).

Krista Campbell, Josephine Palumbo, Steven Harroun and Daniel Roussy made statements and, with Charles Taillefer and Morgan Currie, answered questions.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of the Second Vice-Chair.

On motion of Pat Kelly, it was agreed, — That Karine Trudel be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.

At 5:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:08 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure meet to discuss future Committee business.

At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Hugues La Rue
Clerk of the Committee