Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 52
Tuesday, March 21, 2017, 4:07 p.m. to 5:18 p.m.
Blaine Calkins, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Dewing, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Pat Kelly gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the President of the Treasury Board, the Honorable Scott Brison, to appear before it as soon as possible to discuss the recent decision to postpone his proposed reforms to the Access to Information Act.

British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
• Micheal Vonn, Policy Director
As an individual
• Colin J. Bennett, Political Science Professor, University of Victoria
• David Fraser, Partner, McInnes Cooper
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, Professor of Law, University of Ottawa
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vi) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 1, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA).

Micheal Vonn, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Michael Geist, David Fraser, and Colin J. Bennett, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., Nathaniel Erskine-Smith took the Chair.

At 4:54 p.m., Blaine Calkins took the Chair.

At 5:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Hugues La Rue
Clerk of the Committee