Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 155
Wednesday, May 29, 2019, 8:33 a.m. to 11:44 a.m.
Bob Zimmer, Chair (Conservative)

United Kingdom House of Commons
• Damian Collins, MP, Chair, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
• Ian C. Lucas, MP, Member, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
• Jo Stevens, MP, Member, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
Parliament of Singapore
• Sun Xueling, MP, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of National Development
Houses of the Oireachtas
• Hildegarde Naughton, M.P., Chair, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
• James Lawless, M.P., Member, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
• Mark Ryland, Director, Security Engineering, Office of the Chief Information Security Officer for Amazon Web Services
Microsoft Canada Inc.
• Marlene Floyd, National Director, Corporate Affairs
• John Weigelt, National Technology Officer
Mozilla Corporation
• Alan Davidson, Vice-President, Global Policy, Trust and Security
Apple Inc.
• Erik Neuenschwander, Manager of User Privacy
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vii) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, January 29, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of the International Grand Committee on big data, privacy and democracy.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 9:28 a.m., Nathaniel Erskine-Smith took the Chair.

At 9:36 a.m., Bob Zimmer took the Chair.

At 11:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee