Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 154
Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 5:37 p.m.
Bob Zimmer, Chair (Conservative)

United Kingdom House of Commons
• Damian Collins, MP, Chair, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
• Ian C. Lucas, MP, Member, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
• Jo Stevens, MP, Member, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee
Parliament of Singapore
• Edwin Tong, MP, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Law and Ministry of Health
• Sun Xueling, MP, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of National Development
Houses of the Oireachtas
• Hildegarde Naughton, M.P., Chair, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
• James Lawless, M.P., Member, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
Parliament of the Federal Republic of Germany
• Jens Zimmermann, MP, Social Democratic Party
Parliament of the Republic of Estonia (Riigikogu)
• Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, MP, Vice-Chairwoman, Reform Party
Senate of the United Mexican States
• Hon. Antares Guadalupe Vázquez Alatorre, Senator
National Assembly of the Republic of Ecuador
• Elizabeth Cabezas, Member of Parliament
House of Assembly of Saint Lucia
• Andy Daniel, M.P., Speaker
Legislative Assembly of the Republic of Costa Rica
• Carolina Hidalgo Herrera, Member of Parliament
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
United States Federal Election Commission
• Ellen Weintraub, Chair
As an individual
• Joseph A. Cannataci, Special Rapporteur on the Right to Privacy, United Nations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vii) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, January 29, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of the International Grand Committee on big data, privacy and democracy.

Daniel Therrien, Ellen Weintraub, and Joseph A. Cannataci, by videoconference from Msida, Malta, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee