Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 124
Thursday, November 1, 2018, 11:31 a.m. to 1:03 p.m.
Bob Zimmer, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
Elections Canada
• Stéphane Perrault, Chief Electoral Officer
• Anne Lawson, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Regulatory Affairs
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Scott Hutton, Executive Director, Broadcasting
• Rachelle Frenette, Legal Counsel
• Neil Barratt, Director, Electronic Commerce Enforcement
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Brent Homan, Deputy Commissioner, Compliance Sector
• Gregory Smolynec, Deputy Commissioner, Policy and Promotion Sector
• Julia Barss, General Counsel and Head of Legal Services, Legal Services Directorate
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vii) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 22, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of breach of personal information involving Cambridge Analytica and Facebook.

Stéphane Perrault and Scott Hutton made statements and, with Anne Lawson, Rachelle Frenette and Neil Barratt, answered questions.

At 12:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:18 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Daniel Therrien made a statement and, with Brent Homan, Gregory Smolynec and Julia Barss, answered questions.

At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee