Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 37
Wednesday, October 5, 2016, 1:35 p.m. to 7:46 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
As individuals
• Christopher Dunn, Professor, Political Science Department, Memorial University of Newfoundland
• Amanda Bittner, Associate Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland
• Marilyn Reid
• Robert Ring
• Fred Winsor
• Helen Forsey
• Kathleen Burt
• Greg Malone
• Mary Power
• Kelsey Reichel
• Liam O'Neill
• Kenneth LeDez
• Michael Chalker
• Jean Ann Ledwell
• Lev Tarasoff
• Norman Whalen
• Peter Roth
• David Brake
Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Parliament
• Brendon Dixon, President
New Democratic Party of Newfoundland and Labrador
• Earle McCurdy, Leader
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

Amanda Bittner, Christopher Dunn and Robert Ring made statements and answered questions.

At 3:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marilyn Reid and Brendon Dixon made statements and answered questions.

Fred Winsor, Helen Forsey, Kathleen Burt, Greg Malone, Mary Power, Kelsey Reichel, Liam O'Neill, Kenneth LeDez and Michael Chalker made statements.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Earle McCurdy made a statement and answered questions.

Jean Ann Ledwell, David Brake, Lev Tarasoff, Liam O'Neill, Norman Whalen and Peter Roth made statements.

At 7:46 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee