Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 20
Wednesday, August 31, 2016, 9:37 a.m. to 12:21 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
House of Commons
• Hugues La Rue, Procedural Clerk
As an individual
• Joachim Behnke, Professor, Chair, Political Science, Zeppelin University, Germany
• Friedrich Pukelsheim, Professor, Institut für Mathematik, Universität Augsburg, Germany
The Electoral Management Board for Scotland
• Chris Highcock, Secretary
• Mary Pitcaithly, Convener
The Electoral Commission
• Andy O'Neill, Head of Electoral Commission, Scotland
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

Joachim Behnke and Friedrich Pukelsheim, by videoconference from Munich, Germany, and Andy O'Neill, by videoconference from Falkirk, United Kingdom, made statements and with Mary Pitcaithly and Chris Highcock, by videoconference from Falkirk, United Kingdom, answered questions.

At 12:21 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee