Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 17
Monday, August 29, 2016, 2:01 p.m. to 5:41 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

• Alain Rayes for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Gabriel Ste-Marie for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
House of Commons
• Hugues La Rue, Procedural Clerk
Broadbent Institute
• Hon. Ed Broadbent, Chair and Founder
As an individual
• Mr. Jean-Pierre Charbonneau, Minister for Democratic Reform, Government of Quebec (2002-2003)
• Yasmin Dawood, Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Democracy, Constitutionalism, and Electoral Law, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

Ed Broadbent, Jean-Pierre Charbonneau and Yasmin Dawood made statements and answered questions.

At 3:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 4:45 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business in camera.

At 5:41 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee