Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, July 28, 2016, 8:37 a.m. to 12:24 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Nathalie Clairoux, Logistics Officer
Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business, in camera.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, July 7, 2016, the Members of Parliament who are unable to submit their written town hall(s) report in both official languages by Friday October 14, 2016, may submit the report in one official language no later than Friday October 14, 2016, and that the Committee staff inform the Members of this amendment.

It was agreed, — That, in relation to the electronic consultations, the Chair, Clerks and Analysts be authorized to make changes as may be necessary, that the text be approved informally by the Sub-committee members, and that the questionnaire be published on the Committee website.

It was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of viable alternate voting systems, mandatory voting and online voting, the following travel budgets be adopted:

• Regina (SK), St-Pierre Jolys (MB), Winnipeg (MB), Toronto (ON), Québec (QC), and Joliette (QC): $ 137,111.80

• Whitehorse (YT), Victoria (BC), Vancouver (BC), LeDuc (AB), Yellowknife(NT): $ 162,667.05

• Montréal (QC), St. John’s (NL), Halifax (NS), Charlottetown (PE), Fredericton (NB) $ 130,711.80

• Iqaluit ((NU) $ 109 517.50.

It was agreed, — That, should the Board of Internal Economy adopt these budgets, the Analysts and the Clerks, in consultation with the Chair, prepare a news release for publication on the Committee’s website, announcing the cities that will be visited.

It was agreed, — That, the Committee hire two (2) research assistants for the period of June 21 to December 1, 2016, for a total amount not to exceed $ 58,300.00.

It was agreed, — That, a proposed budget in the amount of $ 80,250.00 for the study of electoral reform be adopted.

It was agreed, — That, the debate on Mr. Nathan Cullen’ motion be adjourned until the week of August 22, 2016.

At 9:52 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:01 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Institute on Governance
• Maryantonett Flumian, President
As an individual
• Dennis Pilon, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, York University
• Jonathan Rose, Associate Professor, Department of Policital Studies, Queen's University
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

Maryantonett Flumian, Dennis Pilon and Jonathan Rose made statements and answered questions.

At 12:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee